Crosby Honored as JU Professor of the Year

At the 54th-annual Faculty Recognition Event on March 30, Jacksonville University celebrated certain faculty for their longevity of service, honored three retiring professors, granted emeritus status to one, and presented four with Awards for Excellence. Dr. Bill Crosby, associate professor of accounting, was named JU’s Professor of the Year.

Faculty members were presented with Awards for Excellence in the following areas:

Excellence in Teaching
Dr. Ruth O’Keefe, professor of accounting

Excellence in Scholarship and Professional Activities�
Dr. Rose Borkowski, assistant professor of biology/marine science

Excellence in University Service�
Dr. Julius Demps, assistant professor of management

Excellence in Community Service�
Dr. Raymond Oldakowski, professor of geography

 Professor of the Year is chosen by a faculty vote, and Crosby will hold the position through the 2012-13 academic year.
“The award is the highest peer recognition given to a JU faculty member,” said Dr. Lois Becker, senior vice president for academic affairs. “It recognizes a professor who best embodies as a teacher the ideals of the University.” The criteria include effective teaching, professional growth and activity and service to the University and to the community. All tenured and tenure-track faculty members who have completed two or more years on the JU faculty are eligible.

 Crosby has served in a number of roles during his 18 years with the University.  Currently he is the Robert T. Shircliff Professor of Business Ethics and also serving for the second time as the interim dean for the Davis College of Business (DCOB).  He was the associate dean from 1999 to 2001 and 2002 to 2003, and the vice president for finance and administration from 2003 to 2007.

 He earned his Bachelor of Science degree from Valdosta State College and his Master of Accountancy and Doctorate in Accounting from the University of Georgia. Prior to coming to JU, he taught at the University of North Florida, where he was named the 1988 Teacher of the Year for the Department of Accounting and Finance.

 Crosby served as NCAA Faculty Athletics Representative for eight years, has chaired a number of University Committees, and has served on numerous committees within the DCOB.  He is currently vice president of the JU Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi and president of the Beta Gamma Sigma chapter.

 Retiring JU faculty members recognized were Dr. Richard Gibson, professor of English; Captain Jeff Harrison, associate professor of aeronautics; and Dr. Bashir Sayar, professor of mechanical engineering. Dr. John Sullivan, professor emeritus of political science, was honored as professor emeriti for his years of service.

 Faculty members recognized for their longevity of service were:

Dr. Barbara Doyle, professor of computing sciences, 20 years
Dr. Raymond Clines, professor of English, 25 years
Professor Eric Thomas, associate professor of history, 25 years
Dr. Dennis Dormady, professor of computing sciences, 30 years
Dr. Ruth O’Keefe, professor of accounting, 30 years

 For more information, contact the Office of Academic Affairs at (904) 256-7030.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>